Lexi Ray and Jewel 8 close out 2019 Caledon Equestrian Park with 2 big wins at Fall Finale

Campbellville, Ontario’s Lexi Ray and Jewel 8 wrapped up the show season at Caledon Equestrian Park with a bang, securing wins in both the $5,000 at the 2019 Fall Finale.

Jewel 8 and Lexi Ray jumping the $20,000 Fall Finale Grand Prix.

PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

The pair bested claimed their second red ribbon of the week in the $20,000 Fall Finale Grand Prix on Saturday (Sept 26), besting a starting field of 10 entries with four advancing to the jump-off.

Ray and Jewel 8 were first to go in the second round posting a blistering winning time of 38.62 that would hold up for top prize. Sam Pegg and Cayden de Coilly’s jump-off time of 40.23 was good enough for second, with Kendra Martenfeld and Koning Boudewijn in third.

Lexi Ray and Jewel 8 in the winner's circle at Fall Finale.

PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography

Ray and Jewel 8 started off their impressive week in the indoor ring at the park with a red ribbon on Thursday (Sept. 26) in the $5,000 1.40m Jumper Welcome, presented by Stonewood Construction Management. Pegg and Cayden de Coilly were second in that class as well, with Barbara Ruziska and Dynamite rounding out the top three finishers in that one.

Receiving awards for the $5000 1.40m Jumper Welcome presented by Stonewood Construction Management Inc. PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

Caledon Equestrian Park would like to highlight class sponsor Stonewood Construction Management Inc., Launched in 2010, Stonewood specializes in design and consulting services for equestrian properties, as well as commercial and residential projects. For more information or to set up your own project, visit www.stonewoodmanagement.com

The Fall Finale also featured a series of medal finals on Saturday ahead of the evening Grand Prix. Kailey Kaiser and Kiss Me Kate kicked things off by winning the Grand Prix Pony Medal Finals.

Kailey Kaiser and Kiss Me Kate win the Grand Prix Pony Medal Finals.

PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

It would be Erin Ugolini and Bombay claiming top prize in the Grand Prix Amateur Medal Finals, followed by Kessler Knowling riding Calista to the red ribbon in the Grand Prix Children's Medal Finals. Ellah Dubeau-Kielty steered MTM Kingsport to victory in the Grand Prix Junior Medal Finals.

Erin Ugolini and Bombay win the Grand Prix Amateur Medal Finals (left), Kessler Knowling riding Calista wins the Grand Prix Children's Medal Finals (centre). Ellah Dubeau-Kielty and Kingsport win the Grand Prix Junior Medal Finals (right). PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

The medal classes wrapped up with the OHJA Jumper Medal Final, presented by Bruno Delgrange, which saw Sabrina Von Buttlar pilot Cinco to a first-place finish.

Left to Right- John Pundyk,Bruno Delgrange representative Wendy Good, Debbie Weir of the OHJA and Trainer Katie Uloth of Looking Back Farm with OHJA Medal Final winner Sabrina Von Buttlar. PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

The hunters took centre stage the night before on Friday in the $3,000 EMG Pony Hunter Classic and $2,000 Canadian Hunter Derby (www.hunterderby.ca).

Rylee Poole-Kohli was both first and second in the $3,000 Pony Hunter Classic, riding Judy Henderson HF Chester to the red ribbon, and Right on Target to a second place finish. Ella Davison and Lunar Eclipse were third.

Winners of the $3,000 Pony Hunter Classic Rylee Poole-Kohli and HF Chester.

PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

Shannon Walters,Chantilly Lace with Kristjan Good aboard put up in impressive winning performance in the derby, followed by Salvo RSF in second also piloted by Kristjan Good, and Peter Gisborn and Jalisco in third.

Sheila Johnstone presents Derby Whisperer Kristjan Good with winning awards for his performance in the $2,000 Canadian Hunter Derby aboard Chantilly Lace.

PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

Equestrian Management Group handed out its annual circuit awards during the show awarded to those riders/horses accumulating the most points throughout nine weeks of EMG horse shows. Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients. See the full list of winners in each division below.

2019 Circuit Champions. PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.

CEP would also like to congratulate Penny Murray, the first ever recipient of the RingMaster’s Trophy and Cliff Haines Memorial Award.

Penny is a deserving having spent a lifetime in the horse industry coaching, training, and mentoring with a high standard of professionalism, integrity, and most importantly a keen knowledge of horses.

“Penny shows great love for her horses and brings years if innate horse knowledge in everything she does. She still participates in the daily “works” in the barn and is assists with her daughter’s business. She is also involved in the presentations at the Caledon Equestrian Park. Penny always is professional, caring and willing to help,” said EMG.

Penny Murray receiving the highly prestigious Cliff Haines Memorial Award and Ringmasters Trophy. PC: Ben Radvanyi Photography.